Indiana Dental Hygienists' Association 

The Juanita Schisler Award (Nominations due by July 15 of each year.)

Award Criteria as of July 2006
The IDHA shall award the Juanita Schisler Award when applicable to a dental hygienist in good standing within the Association. The review of the nominees will focus on the candidate’s continuous contribution to the profession in the areas of community outreach, clinical practice, and service, mentorship to the profession and/or participation within the association at the state and/or component level.

The Juanita Schisler Award Recipients


Becky Alles




Ronda Worden

Elaine Foley


Isaac Knapp

NOTE:  This listing of recipients was compiled to the best of our ability and knowledge. If you know of an error or can provide additional recipients, please contact Central Office.




Congratulations to Elaine Foley,  the 2016 Juanita Schisler Award recipient.   Ellaine was chosen because she exemplifies the pioneer that Ms. Schisler was to the profession.  Elaine has dedicated her life to educating hygienists, mentoring IDHA/IKDHA members, serving the association as Isaac Knapp’s Continuing Education Committee Chair for many years and served as  IK Trustee for 2 terms.  As a member of IDHA’s Legislative Council, Elaine made significant contributions to the advances made in the legislative arena.  Congratulations Elaine and thank you for your service and contributions.


To improve the public’s health, the mission of the Indiana Dental Hygienists’ Association is to advance
the art and science of dental hygiene by ensuring access to quality oral health care, increasing awareness of the cost-effective benefits of prevention, promoting the highest standards of dental hygiene education,
licensure, practice and research, and representing and promoting the interests of dental hygienists.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software